Concealed carry permits
Please visit http://www.nrainstructors.org/search.aspx to find an instructor near you.
How to apply
Applications are taken by Appointment Only, contact Becky Young at the Putnam County Sheriff’s office at 419-523-3184 to set up an appointment. Appointments can be made Tuesdays and Thursdays.
You must bring the following to your appointment:
•. Driver’s license
•. Completed application form
•. Firearms Certificate of Competency
•. Cashier’s check or money order for fees
•. Form DD214 if served in military
ATTENTION CCW Instructors – We request that the following information be on the training certificates you provide your students.
Name, Phone number and location of Training Company
Name of Instructor and their NRA or OPOTA number
Name of student
Date of course completion
A statement that the course meets or exceeds statutory requirements in ORC 2923.125
6 hours of academic classroom training and 2 hours of live firing range time training
Below are examples of certificates.
|New issue Ohio residents for five consecutive years or more||$67.00|
|New issue Ohio residents less than five years||$67.00 for application/BCI record check $24 for FBI record check|
|Renewal resident for less than five years||$74.00|
Effective July 1st, 2021
In accordance to Ohio law, effective July 1st, 2021, residents applying for CHL (new and renewal applications) can only apply in their county of residence or adjacent county. Residents will no longer have an extended grace period of 90 days, but will return to the original 30 day grace period. Residents who are unable to renew within the 30 day grace period of their permit expiring will NOT be required to retake a CHL class. Please be advised you will not be able to carry concealed after the 30 day grace period until your permit is renewed.
Previously, Governor DeWine signed House Bill 614 which states if your license is scheduled to expire between March 9, 2020 and June 30, 2021, the expiration date is extended by 90 days or until June 30, 2021, whichever is later. House Bill 614 also allowed residents of Ohio to apply for a license or renew a license at ANY Sheriff’s office in Ohio. Residents were not limited to their residing county or an adjacent county. This bill expires on June 30, 2021.
Fees are to be paid by Cashier’s check or Money Order Only made payable to the Putnam County Sheriff’s Office. Personal Checks and Cash WILL NOT BE ACCEPTED. All fees are non-refundable.
Fees are waived to all retired law enforcement.
Anyone needing information or interested in taking the required firearms training course may contact Becky Young at 419-523-3184.
Carry Concealed Weapon Renewal Process Information.
The Ohio Revised Code provides for the renewal of a CCW license 90 days prior to and no later than 30 days after the license expires. This provides a 120-day window during which the licensee may begin the renewal process. If the licensee fails to initiate the renewal process within this 120-day period, the CCW license will expire and will no longer be valid.
To renew the CCW license, the applicant must present a new application, re-read the CCW pamphlet, a new passport-sized color photo taken in the past 30 days OR current issued CCW license, and the original training certificate of competency. The applicant will also be required to submit to fingerprint verification for a background check. The cost of a renewed CCW license is $50 for Ohio residents of more than 5 years and $79 for Ohio residents who have not lived in Ohio for 5 years. If you do not have a passport picture one can be provided for an additional fee of $3. All fees must be paid by a cashier’s check or money order.
Upon the successful completion of the background check, a new license will be issued with the original license number with a new date of expiration that is five years from the date of the renewal. During the renewal process, the current license will remain valid, but must be surrendered to the Sheriff’s Office upon issuance of the renewed license.
The original training certificate of competency is valid, provided that the issue date is less than three years prior to the application date. If the original certificate is older than three years, then a renewed certificate of competency must be obtained with an issue date prior to the expiration of the original certificate. If more than three years have elapsed since the original certificate issue date, then the entire course must be completed, with a new certificate issued, before a CCW license can be applied for.